View Full Version : Ideas Please

tagnostic
January 4th, 2009, 04:09 AM
I was just surfing and hit an article on using heat chimneys (Link) (http://www.stirlingengines.org.uk/sun/sola6.html)
and had this wierd idea,
now most of ya'll know i work as a cook, we pay (and are required by law) to clean our flue's (chimneys, hood vents) every 3mos,
ok, wierd idea,
why can't we harness all that generated heat, not just in restaurants but in the home, ie:over the water heater, the stove, heck, even the TV with small turbines wired back into the wall/batteries,
i realise there's going to be loss to friction, but right now it's being wasted so anything we get out of it is a benefit squared.
just a thought.

rzm61
January 4th, 2009, 07:08 AM
So what, you're saying transfer that wasted heat energy and transform it into useable energy?

tagnostic
January 4th, 2009, 07:11 AM
yeppers,
that would be the object to the exercise

rzm61
January 4th, 2009, 07:28 AM
Hmm.

That is a smart idea, but it probably would put people who are already in business out of it or some shit, and we can't let that happen now can we? :icon_rolleyes:

But, it would boost a different profession and job market.

winwun
January 4th, 2009, 12:01 PM
A waste I could never comprehend or accept is the burn-off you see at every refinery, sewage treatment facility and some landfills.

If this burn-off fired a boiler, a lot of steam could be generated to turn a generator for electricity, and the residual heat could be utilized in the winter months in the buildings.

What ever happened to all the research that was going on in magnetohydrodynamics ?

That was supposed to be the salvation of the century . . .

Instead, just blatant, raw, rampant waste . . .

Wonder if the Eminent Domain laws would let a person step in and claim utility of such a waste ?

Tsar Phalanxia
January 4th, 2009, 12:04 PM
Will post reply later.

tagnostic
January 4th, 2009, 12:11 PM
Will post reply later.
will respond
to your reply