View Full Version : Ontario and religion

piquestra
March 13th, 2010, 11:41 PM
Hello all, I am new to this Church. I do have a question. I live in Ontario and am interested in utilizing (i.e. taking advantage of) the tax-free nature of churches. If you can't beat 'em join 'em. Does anyone know the formal/legal issues involved in creating, incorporating, or whetever a church and/or religion in Canada/Ontario? Given the proliferation of these things, it can't be too difficult but Chapters doesn't have the Dummy's Guide For New Religions. If anyone can point me or direct me to a successful conclusion I promise to issue and bestow an appropriate title. My religion will have room for you all. And I must point out that I mean no disrespect to the Church of Google. I should point out that you could even be sainted because in my religion sainthood is available before death. Thanks in advance for any insight regarding this matter.

Will.
March 14th, 2010, 07:40 AM
Do you have a written set of beliefs accepted by a social group, utilizing mortality in some way?

piquestra
March 15th, 2010, 12:28 AM
Written set of beliefs can be readily produced. How extensive does it have to be? What defines a social group and how big does the group have to be? Finally where does mortality have to fit into the beliefs? Thanks for the response.

Will.
March 15th, 2010, 09:07 PM
Written set of beliefs can be readily produced. How extensive does it have to be? What defines a social group and how big does the group have to be? Finally where does mortality have to fit into the beliefs? Thanks for the response.

Its because thats what defines religion, as a set of beliefs guiding ones path in life. "And you are my shepherd."

piquestra
March 16th, 2010, 10:13 PM
So if I have a written set of beliefs that guides us then what? Keep i mind I am after tax relief and want to do so legally.

tagnostic
March 17th, 2010, 02:10 AM
you have to register it as a non-profit entity